Home › Compare › PATLive vs AnswerConnect
PATLive vs AnswerConnect: the cheapest human answering
These two are the honest floor of the human answering market. Both put trained people on your phone, both publish their overage rates, and both cost roughly half what the better-known names charge. They differ in one structural way: PATLive sells a $49 plan with no minutes included, while AnswerConnect's cheapest plan is $350 and includes 200 minutes. That single difference decides which one is right for you.
The short answer. Under about 223 minutes a month, PATLive costs less. Above it, AnswerConnect costs less at almost every volume up to 1,500 minutes, except between 500 and 520 minutes, where PATLive's 500 minutes plan saves at most $2.08. The gap in AnswerConnect's favour reaches $319 a month at 1,500 minutes. Low volume, seasonal or unpredictable means PATLive. Steady volume means AnswerConnect.
What does a minute really cost on each ladder?
| Plan | Price | Minutes | Per minute inside the plan | Overage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PATLive Pay as you go | $49 | no minutes included | No minutes included | $2.99 a minute |
| PATLive 50 minutes | $99 | 50 minutes, about 20 calls | $1.98 | $2.29 a minute |
| PATLive 100 minutes | $189 | 100 minutes, about 40 calls | $1.89 | $2.09 a minute |
| PATLive 200 minutes | $349 | 200 minutes, about 80 calls | $1.75 | $1.99 a minute |
| PATLive 300 minutes | $479 | 300 minutes, about 120 calls | $1.60 | $1.89 a minute |
| PATLive 500 minutes | $759 | 500 minutes, about 200 calls | $1.52 | $1.79 a minute |
| PATLive 1,000 minutes | $1,499 | 1,000 minutes, about 400 calls | $1.50 | $1.69 a minute |
| PATLive 2,000 minutes | $2,899 | 2,000 minutes, about 800 calls | $1.45 | $1.64 a minute |
| PATLive 3,000 minutes | $4,299 | 3,000 minutes, about 1,200 calls | $1.43 | $1.59 a minute |
| PATLive 4,000 minutes | $5,599 | 4,000 minutes, about 1,600 calls | $1.40 | $1.54 a minute |
| PATLive 5,000 minutes | $6,899 | 5,000 minutes, about 2,000 calls | $1.38 | $1.49 a minute |
| AnswerConnect Entry | $350 | 200 minutes | $1.75 | $2.50 a minute |
| AnswerConnect Growth | $395 | 300 minutes | $1.32 | $1.85 a minute |
| AnswerConnect Standard | $575 | 400 minutes | $1.44 | $1.85 a minute |
| AnswerConnect 550 minutes | $795 | 550 minutes | $1.45 | $1.85 a minute |
| AnswerConnect 750 minutes | $1,050 | 750 minutes | $1.40 | $1.85 a minute |
| AnswerConnect 950 minutes | $1,325 | 950 minutes | $1.39 | $1.85 a minute |
| AnswerConnect 1,200 minutes | $1,625 | 1,200 minutes | $1.35 | $1.85 a minute |
| AnswerConnect 1,500 minutes | $2,025 | 1,500 minutes | $1.35 | $1.85 a minute |
| AnswerConnect 2,500 minutes | $3,375 | 2,500 minutes | $1.35 | $1.85 a minute |
| AnswerConnect 5,000 minutes | $6,650 | 5,000 minutes | $1.33 | $1.75 a minute |
Inside the plan, AnswerConnect runs from $1.32 to $1.75 a minute and PATLive from $1.38 to $1.98. On overage rates the picture is closer: PATLive charges $1.49 to $2.99 and AnswerConnect $1.75 to $2.50. Priced at AnswerConnect's own plan sizes, AnswerConnect is cheaper at 9 of 10 (at 200 minutes PATLive's 200 minutes plan is $1 cheaper), but only if you can fill the minutes you are buying.
Where does the crossover actually sit?
AnswerConnect's floor is $350, no matter how few minutes you use, and below the crossover PATLive has the cheaper route at every volume. The flip comes when AnswerConnect's Growth plan, $395 for 300 minutes, undercuts PATLive's 200 minutes plan plus overage at $1.99 a minute. Set them equal: $395 minus $349 is $46, divided by $1.99 gives 23.1 extra minutes. Add the 200 minutes in the plan and the two services cost the same at about 223.1 minutes a month. That is roughly 3.7 hours of calls, or about 10 five-minute calls a week.
What is the monthly bill at five call volumes?
Both vendors publish overage, so both columns use the genuinely cheapest route, whether that is a plan on its own or a smaller plan plus overage minutes.
| Minutes a month | PATLive | AnswerConnect | Cheaper |
|---|---|---|---|
| 20 minutes | 50 minutes at $99 | Entry at $350 | PATLive by $251 |
| 75 minutes | 50 minutes at $156.25 (plan plus 25 minutes of overage) | Entry at $350 | PATLive by $193.75 |
| 200 minutes | 200 minutes at $349 | Entry at $350 | PATLive by $1 |
| 400 minutes | 300 minutes at $668 (plan plus 100 minutes of overage) | Standard at $575 | AnswerConnect by $93 |
| 600 minutes | 500 minutes at $938 (plan plus 100 minutes of overage) | 550 minutes at $887.50 (plan plus 50 minutes of overage) | AnswerConnect by $50.50 |
How the 20-minute row works
PATLive: the 50 minutes plan at $99 covers 20 minutes outright. The Pay as you go plan at $49 plus 20 minutes at $2.99 comes to $108.80, $9.80 more. AnswerConnect cannot go below its Entry plan at $350, so you pay for 200 minutes and use 20, which is $17.50 for every minute you actually used. For a seasonal business, a solo professional or anyone with a quiet phone, that is the whole argument.
How the 400-minute row works
PATLive: the 300 minutes plan at $479 plus 100 overage minutes at $1.89 comes to $668, the cheapest route. The 200 minutes plan at $349 plus 200 overage minutes at $1.99 comes to $747, $79 more. AnswerConnect: the Standard plan at $575 covers 400 minutes outright, while the Growth plan at $395 plus 100 overage minutes at $1.85 comes to $580, so the Standard plan wins by $5. Difference between the two vendors: $93 a month, or $1,116 a year.
What does price alone not show?
| What matters | PATLive | AnswerConnect |
|---|---|---|
| Entry commitment | $49 with no minutes included, no contracts | $350 minimum, which buys 200 minutes |
| Free trial | 14-day free trial | Not stated in the pricing PDF |
| How talk time is billed | First minute of every call billed in full, then 6-second increments | Every call rounded up to the next full minute |
| Very short calls | No published allowance | First 30 interactions under 30 seconds free each billing cycle |
| Spanish | Bilingual English and Spanish service is included on every plan at no extra cost; Spanish-speaking receptionists answer from 8am to 10pm ET | $30 a month add-on |
| Setup fee | None published, no contracts | $49.99 one-time on Entry, waived on Growth, and their own PDF contradicts itself on which |
| Who answers | Advertised as 100% US-based live receptionists | Live receptionists, location not stated in the pricing PDF |
The short-call allowance deserves a number rather than a shrug. Thirty calls under 30 seconds cost nothing at AnswerConnect. On PATLive's 100 minutes plan the same thirty calls consume about $56.70 of a $189 plan every month, or $680.40 a year. For a business whose phone rings with wrong numbers, delivery drivers and one-line questions, that closes a chunk of the price gap in AnswerConnect's favour on top of the table above. Longer calls cut the other way: AnswerConnect rounds every call up to the next full minute, while PATLive bills in 6-second steps after the first minute, so a 2 minute 10 second call counts as 3 minutes at AnswerConnect and 2.2 at PATLive.
Who should pick which?
Seasonal or low-volume business
PATLive. $49 a month with no minutes included means a quiet month costs almost nothing. Twenty minutes of calls comes to $99 against AnswerConnect's floor of $350. Add the 14-day free trial and no contracts and it is the lowest-risk way to test whether human answering helps you at all.
Steady phone all week
AnswerConnect. From about 223 minutes a month it is cheaper at almost every volume up to 1,500: $93 at 400 minutes, $50.50 at 600 minutes. The Growth plan at $395 for 300 minutes is the best value rung in human answering that we can verify anywhere, at $1.32 a minute.
Bilingual, or a phone full of quick calls
Depends which problem is bigger. PATLive includes Spanish at no extra cost, which saves $30 a month against AnswerConnect, or $360 a year. AnswerConnect's free short-call allowance is worth about $56.70 a month if thirty of your calls are brief. Count your own calls before choosing.
Check both before you commit
PATLive prices read from their pricing page on 2026-10-23, AnswerConnect prices from their published pricing PDF on 2026-10-23. Ask AnswerConnect to confirm the setup fee in writing, because their own document is inconsistent about it.
Is human answering worth it at all?
Both of these cost more than any AI plan on this site. That is only a bad deal if the calls you are missing are worth less than the difference. Put your numbers in and see.
You miss about 10 calls a week, and roughly 3 of those callers would have booked.
Next step: compare 24/7 live and hybrid answering services, or look at Smith.ai (AI with live agents behind it, live plans from $300 a month, price checked Oct 23, 2026).
Next step: test an AI receptionist for a month. Lowest paid entry prices we track: Dialzara from $29 a month, Answrr from $49 a month and RosieAd from $49 a month (prices checked Oct 21, 2026 to Oct 23, 2026). Or compare every AI receptionist we track.
Next step: see the cheapest answering options and free AI receptionist plans before paying for a full service.
Where to go next
- Every PATLive plan, including the pay-as-you-go tier
- Every AnswerConnect plan and the setup fee question
- Ruby vs AnswerConnect, where the premium brand costs two to three times more
- AI receptionist vs virtual receptionist, with both categories priced
- Cheaper alternatives to Ruby
- All published prices in one table
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, PATLive or AnswerConnect?
It flips at roughly 223 minutes a month. Below that PATLive is cheaper: its Pay as you go plan is $49 with no minutes included, and its 200 minutes plan costs $349, under AnswerConnect's $350 floor. Above it AnswerConnect is cheaper at almost every volume up to 1,500 minutes, because its Growth plan buys 300 minutes for $395, the lowest per-minute price on either ladder. At 400 minutes the gap is $93 a month in AnswerConnect's favour.
What is the cheapest PATLive plan?
Pay as you go at $49 a month, with no minutes included and every minute billed at $2.99. It stays the cheapest PATLive option only below about 17 minutes a month; from there the 50 minutes plan at $99 costs less. It is the only genuinely low-commitment entry to human answering we can verify. AnswerConnect has no equivalent, its ladder starts at $350.
Does either one charge for very short calls?
AnswerConnect's pricing states there is no charge for the first 30 interactions under 30 seconds in each billing cycle (verified 2026-10-23). PATLive publishes no equivalent allowance and bills the first minute of every call in full. On PATLive's 100 minutes plan, thirty short calls consume about $56.70 of a $189 plan. If wrong numbers, quick questions and hang-ups make up a real share of your calls, that allowance is worth more than the headline price difference.
Which one lets you try it first?
PATLive advertises a 14-day free trial and no contracts. AnswerConnect states no trial in the pricing PDF we read. On languages, PATLive includes bilingual receptionists on every plan at no extra cost, while AnswerConnect charges $30 a month.