Home › Goodcall › Alternatives
Goodcall alternatives in 2026
Goodcall bills something nobody else in this market bills: the unique customer. $79 a month buys 100 unique customers with unlimited minutes, and every extra one costs $0.79 on that plan, falling to $0.26 on Growth and $0.15 on Scale. That makes it unusually cheap when calls run long, and it only loses once the number of new callers runs well past the plan you are on. Before you switch, count your callers, because that number decides whether an alternative saves you anything at all.
The short answer. Long calls from a stable set of callers: stay with Goodcall, nothing per-minute comes close. Short calls from mostly new callers: it depends on volume, at 300 callers it is Answrr (Solo) at $99, at 600 callers it is Answrr (Growth) at $139, at 800 callers it is Answrr (Growth) at $199. More than about 770 new callers a month: move to flat rate, NextPhone at $199 for unlimited calls. Repeat callers who phone many times each: Goodcall is already the right model and Nextiva's per-conversation billing would cost you more.
When does Goodcall win on price?
With unlimited minutes, Goodcall's bill moves with unique callers (100 unique customers on Starter), not with call length. Every per-minute alternative's bill grows as calls get longer. Here is 100 unique callers a month at three different call lengths.
| Average call | Minutes | Goodcall | Rosie | Answrr | Dialzara | NextPhone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2 minutes | 200 | $79 | $49 (Professional) | $49 (Solo) | $96.20 (Business Lite) | $199 |
| 6 minutes | 600 | $79 | $149 (Scale) | $99 (Growth) | $239 (Business Plus) | $199 |
| 12 minutes | 1200 | $79 | $299 (Growth) | $199 (Growth) | $419 (Business Elite) | $199 |
At two minutes a call, Rosie and Answrr undercut Goodcall by $30. At six minutes Goodcall is already cheaper than everything in the row, and at twelve minutes it costs $120 less than Answrr, $220 less than Rosie and $340 less than Dialzara for the same work. If your callers book consultations, describe symptoms, or explain a job in detail, per-unique-customer billing is the model that fits you and the switch is not worth making.
When does Goodcall get expensive?
Later than most people expect. The weak scenario for this model is short calls from callers who are mostly new, so here it is at 1.5 minutes a call and three volumes. Growth covers 500 unique customers for $129, which is why the per-caller bill stays low much longer than the entry plan's limit suggests.
| Unique callers | Minutes | Goodcall | Answrr | Rosie | Dialzara | NextPhone | Cheapest |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 300 | 450 | $129 (Growth) | $99 (Solo) | $149 (Scale) | $199 (Business Plus) | $199 | Answrr |
| 600 | 900 | $155 (Growth) | $139 (Growth) | $149 (Scale) | $349 (Business Elite) | $199 | Answrr |
| 800 | 1200 | $207 (Growth) | $199 (Growth) | $299 (Growth) | $419 (Business Elite) | $199 | Answrr |
Working for the first row: 300 callers on Starter is $79 plus 200 extra callers at $0.79, which is $237. Growth covers the same 300 callers outright for $129, so that is the route to take. In short: at 300 callers it is Answrr (Solo) at $99, at 600 callers it is Answrr (Growth) at $139, at 800 callers it is Answrr (Growth) at $199.
At what point does flat rate become cheaper?
NextPhone charges $199 for unlimited calls with no per-minute and no per-caller charge. Walk Goodcall's cheapest route up caller by caller and the two meet at 770 unique callers a month, where Goodcall costs $199.20. Above that, flat rate is cheaper and stays cheaper across Goodcall's whole published ladder, up to 2,000 unique customers, because Goodcall's bill keeps climbing with every new caller and NextPhone's does not climb at all.
Annual billing moves the line, but only on one side. NextPhone charges $166 a month when paid yearly, which brings the crossover in to about 643 unique callers. Goodcall publishes no annual discount, so if you are near the line and can commit for a year, the flat rate gets more attractive.
Which Goodcall alternatives bill which way?
| Vendor | Model | Entry plan | Overage | Move here when |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rosie | Per minute | Professional $49 for 250 minutes | Not published | Calls are short and callers keep changing. Cheapest entry price of any full product we track. |
| Answrr | Per minute | Solo $49 for 250 minutes (4h 10m) | $0.25 a minute, published for every tier | You want published overage and a free trial that needs no credit card. Every feature is on every plan. |
| Dialzara | Per minute | Business Lite $29 for 60 minutes | $0.48 a minute down to $0.35 | You want the lowest possible starting price to test with. The entry plan is about one call a day, so treat it as a trial tier. |
| NextPhone | Flat rate | Pro $199, unlimited calls | None, by design | More than about 770 new callers a month, or any month where you cannot forecast the number. |
| Nextiva XBert | Per conversation | XBert AI Receptionist $99 for 100 interactions | $1.50 per conversation | Your callers are mostly one-time. Calls under 30 seconds do not count, which is the fairest counting rule in this market. |
| My AI Front Desk | Credit pool | Business-in-a-Box $99 for 200 voice minutes | Credits, which work out near $0.25 a minute for voice | You want phone, SMS, chat and email from one tool. Their cheap tier was withdrawn in September 2026, so this is the entry price for voice. |
Is Nextiva really the closest alternative?
Nextiva XBert is the only other vendor here that counts something other than minutes, so it gets compared to Goodcall constantly. The counting rule is the difference. Goodcall counts a person once no matter how often they ring. Nextiva counts each conversation, defined as a call lasting 30 seconds or more. Take 100 customers who each call three times in a month: Goodcall charges $79 because that is 100 unique customers. Nextiva charges $99 plus 200 conversations at $1.50, which is $399. If your customers call repeatedly, Goodcall's model is the one you want. If almost every caller is new, Nextiva's 30-second rule quietly removes a chunk of your bill.
What does Goodcall do that the alternatives do not?
- Unlimited minutes that are genuinely unlimited, so a 40-minute call costs the same as a 40-second one.
- A published overage rate on every plan, falling from $0.79 to $0.15 per extra unique customer as you move up, which several competitors do not offer at all.
- A local number on every plan, and a free demo agent to test before you pay anything.
And the parts that push people to look elsewhere. The Starter plan holds 1 team member, 5 workers, 1 external tool and 30-day call history, so a shared front desk outgrows it quickly. Languages are not stated on the pricing page. And a month with an unusual number of new callers on Starter costs $0.79 a caller, the highest rate on the ladder, so check which plan your volume really sits on.
Who should pick which?
Long calls, familiar callers
Stay with Goodcall. At 100 callers and twelve-minute calls it costs $79 against $299 at Rosie and $419 at Dialzara. No per-minute vendor can match unlimited minutes when the minutes actually get used.
Short calls, mostly new callers
Check the volume before switching. At 300 new callers the cheapest option we can price is Answrr at $99, against Goodcall Growth at $129; at 600 it is Answrr at $139 against Goodcall's $155. Answrr publishes its overage rate and runs a free trial, no credit card required (length not stated on its pricing page).
Volume you cannot forecast
NextPhone, $199. Above 770 unique callers a month, or 643 if you pay NextPhone yearly, flat rate is simply cheaper, and it removes the forecasting problem entirely. CRM integrations start on their $299 tier, so check that before you assume the entry plan is enough.
Count your unique callers first
Pull one month of caller IDs and count distinct numbers, not calls. That single figure decides this. Prices read from vendor pricing pages on 2026-10-23.
Where to go next
- Every Goodcall plan and its per-customer overage
- AI receptionist vs virtual receptionist, if you are also weighing people against software
- Synthflow alternatives, for anyone who lost their small business plan
- Air AI alternatives, and what to check before buying any AI receptionist
- NextPhone pricing and Nextiva XBert pricing
- All published prices in one table
Frequently asked questions
How does Goodcall billing actually work?
You pay per unique caller, and minutes are unlimited. The Starter plan is $79 for 100 unique customers, Growth is $129 for 500 unique customers and Scale is $299 for 2,000 unique customers. Above your limit each new unique caller costs your plan's own rate: $0.79, $0.26 or $0.15. A caller who phones you six times in a month still counts once, and an hour-long call costs no more than a 30-second one.
When does Goodcall stop being the cheapest option?
At roughly 770 unique callers a month. At that point the cheapest Goodcall route costs about $199.20 and NextPhone charges $199 flat for unlimited calls with no per-caller charge at all. If you pay NextPhone yearly ($166 a month), the crossover moves in to roughly 643 unique callers. Goodcall publishes no annual discount.
What is the closest thing to Goodcall billing?
Nextiva's XBert, which charges per conversation rather than per unique customer: $99 for 100 interactions, then $1.50 each. The difference matters. Goodcall counts a repeat caller once, Nextiva counts every conversation. For 100 customers who each call three times, Goodcall costs $79 and Nextiva $399. Nextiva does not count calls under 30 seconds, which is a genuinely fair rule.
Are Goodcall unlimited minutes really unlimited?
On minutes, yes. Their pricing page says they never meter minutes, so call length costs nothing. The cap is on distinct callers. Two more things to check before you commit: the Starter plan holds 1 team member, 5 workers, 1 external tool and 30-day call history, so a shared front desk or a longer paper trail means Growth at $129. Languages are not stated on their pricing page at all.